• Category


Frequent Traveler Awards 2011

Best Airlines Rewards Programs

The 2011 Frequent Traveler Award winners were announced Thursday, April 28, 2011. The event took place at Citi Field in Flushing, New York, where “over 300 airline, hotel, credit card, loyalty industry representatives and members of frequent traveler programs” gathered together to be a part of the revealing of the results. Although this was only the second year it has taken place, Tommy Danielsen, President of the Frequent Traveler Education Foundation stated that it “was a huge success.” He also stated that these awards are going to be recognized “as the new industry benchmark for loyalty programs” and will be a benchmark for others to follow (FTawards.com). The winners are found by collecting votes and ratings from over a million frequent travelers worldwide who vote on seven different categories for three global regions of the world: The America’s, Europe and Africa, and the Middle East and Asia/Oceania.

Best Frequent Flyer Program Winners Include”

America’s Region:

– Air Canada Aeroplan won airline Program of the Year and Best Redemption Ability

– Marriott Rewards won hotel Program of the Year, Best Customer Service, and Best Promotion for Redemption

– Hilton HHonors won Best Redemption Ability

– Delta SkyMiles won Best Promotion for Redemption

Europe and Africa Region:

– Lufthansa Miles & More won airline Program of the Year

– Marriott Rewards won hotel Program of the Year

Middle East and Asia/Oceania Region:

– Emirates Skywards won airline Program of the Year

– IHG Priority Club Rewards won hotel rewards Program of the Year

Loyalty Leadership Reward from the Frequent Traveler Education Foundation:

– American Airlines

– British Airways

Winning in the Europe and Africa Region, Lufthansa Miles & More won the most overall awards for the airlines, winning a total of five, while Marriott Rewards program, with the slogan “every step along the way,” won a total of eight rewards, the most among the hotel programs.

American Airlines was given the Loyalty Leadership Reward because of the milestone that they reached with their AAdvantage program with “30 years of Frequent Flyer Miles.” British Airways also received an award for their ability to respond to customer feedback and because they have now encompassed full mileage earning on all paid fairs into their rewards program. Danielson said regarding the Loyalty Leadership Rewards, “we honor these two loyalty programs for their leadership in the industry, honoring their customers and adding value to their programs” (www.ftawards.com).

For the Middle East and Asia/Oceania Region, IHG Priority Club Rewards took home the hotel rewards Program of the Year, but what hotels does that include? It includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge Suites, and Candlewood Suites.